EKIP delegation visits RATEL

Belgrade, 21 October 2019 - Delegation of the Agency for electronic communications and postal services of Montenegro (EKIP), headed by the Council President Branko Kovijanić and Executive Director...

The 13th International Conference of Electronic Communications Regulators Started

 Ankara, 2 May 2019 – The 13th International Electronic Communications Regulators Conference, organized by the Information and Communications Technologies Authority (BTK), has started. ...

Cooperation between Serbia and Turkey

Ankara, 9 October 2019 - A memorandum of understanding was signed between the Serbian Electronic Communications and Postal Services Regulatory Authority (RATEL) and Turkey's Information and...

Agreement on cooperation between Serbian and Turkish NRAs

Belgrade, 09 October 2019 - As part of the visit of the Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan and the ceremony of exchange of signed bilateral documents in the Palace of Serbia, Dragan Kovačević,...

Agreements on technical cooperation signed by heads of regional NRAs

Belgrade, 01 October 2019 - During a two-day international conference of electronic communications regulators titled "Future regulation for a global connectivity" taking place in Budva,...

Press release Press release

ANCOM Hosts the Third Meeting of the CEE Regional Working Group

Bucharest, 09.05.2013

The Romanian Authority for Management and Regulation in Communications (ANCOM) has hosted today, May 9, 2013, in Bucharest, the meeting of the Central and Eastern European Regional Working Group, dedicated to Sharing Experience in Spectrum Auctioning.

In the presence of the representative of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), Joaquin Restrepo, Head of the Outreach and Publication Services Division, Radiocommunication Bureau (BR), the participating countries – Albania, Croatia, Hungary, Moldavia, Romania, Serbia and Ukraine – debated an important issue on the current agenda of the European and international regulatory bodies – planning, organising and conducting spectrum auctions for mobile communications. Given the complexity of such a procedure, the members of the Central and Eastern European Regional Working Group (CEERWG) met in Bucharest for an experience exchange on this issue, highlighting the main challenges faced and lessons learned during the procedure organised in Romania in 2012.

Following the successful conclusion of the Romanian spectrum auction, the first two sessions of the event were dedicated to presenting in detail the preparation, organisation and progress of this auction, from the documents prepared by ANCOM, the steps taken in order to ensure fair competition by setting reserve prices and spectrum caps, specifying obligations regarding coverage, national roaming, MVNO hosting, to technical, legal and IT-related information, all of which were important to the success of the auction.

The third session of the event, designed as an interactive round table, was dedicated to sharing experience and plans on awarding spectrum usage rights, to presenting the status of the Digital Dividend awarding in the region, as well as to discussing further issues of regional cooperation.
The ITU representative pointed out that the amount of money raised should not be the unique consideration while organising a spectrum auction and the main criterion for evaluating its success. Other important concerns should be the impact of the auction on the reduction of the digital divide and the development of the market.

This is the third meeting of the Central and Eastern European Regional Working Group, which furthers the steps towards the coordination of spectrum usage in our region. The Group was established, at ANCOM's initiative, in March 2011, and brings together 12 countries in the region for the purpose of harmonising the use of the Digital Dividend band and of regional cooperation, of experience exchange in the region and of promoting the region's interests.

The members of this working group are the regulatory authorities of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Greece, Hungary, Macedonia, Moldavia, Montenegro, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia and Turkey.

Average (0 Votes)
No comments yet. Be the first.
Current Site Calendars